13.1 & Done.

Above, our St. Patrick’s Day in DC.

Well, Bryan and I both finished our first half-marathon(s)!!! We were both very happy with our time (1 hr 50 min for Bryan and I was 2 minutes behind him). Personally, I’m just stoked to finish. Here are a few of the race day highlights:

Breakfast of Green bagels and butter (circa 6:00 am)

-13.1 miles through DC was pretty grueling. Not going to lie: at points during the half I thought to myself “Why am I doing this? I am so dumb.” But the two thoughts that kept me going? 1. Having to admit to friends/family that I had walked ANY of the race (I’m proud to say I did not) and 2. Water at the finish line (seriously. you do not realize how vital that stuff is until you are truly, truly thirsty. As a note, the marathon did have plenty of water and gatorade and “GU fuel” along the course. But those are nearly impossible to drink while running. You try).

– Residents and fans all along the course — so many people lined the streets of DC. I’m not sure I could have completed 13 non-stop miles had they not smiled, waved, cheered, yelled along the way. I pretty sure I don’t know any of you, but your signs and kind words were motivating (even more than the bands). Thank You.

– Switchfoot concert at the finish line (also, free food).

– 80-degree weather. So beautiful — perfectly warm ending.

– Recovery lunch at Chop’t.

– Sore post-race muscles are painful but very satisfying (Yes, Bryan and I have been hobbling whenever we encounter stairs these past 24 hours).

-Watching March Madness for the rest of the day (perfect excuse for resting sore muscles).

More will come later, I am sure. I leave you with a few post-race photos. I would share some of the photos that a professional took DURING my race. But those make it look like I struggled to finish the race. I am not a pretty runner. Yeesh! You never realize these things about yourself until later. Perhaps I should have picked a different sport. But, whatever the photos reveal, I feel like I finished strong — and I sprinted to the finish, which was an accomplishment. I hate sprinting. :)

Above, Me, Laura and Alli post-race, soaking in the beautiful sunshine.

Today was a constant state of hobbling. Alli, Bryan and I walked through Georgetown (once again confirmed that UNC is the best university in the world), tasted some Georgetown Cupcakes, cheered on NC State and Bryan and I took a long “stretch walk” to the Air Force Memorial. Good day.

Above, Alli and Me outside Georgetown Cupcakes. YUM!

Back to the Hill tomorrow morning.

Considering my next race,
Shannon

One thought on “13.1 & Done.

Leave a Reply

