Grace over Questions

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that I always find something new to worry over. Most recently, for me, those worries center around next year. Sure, I was excited to hear back from UNC’s Speech and Hearing program, but that joy lasted for a few days before my Type-A personality began making lists. And asking questions.

& Where will I live next year?

& Where will I find my Christian community?

& Will I have time for a job? What kind of job? Should I work here over the summer?

& Who will my friends be?

This past weekend at Wrightsville Beach during the Women’s Beach Retreat, I learned about the beauty of being woven into a greater story — the beauty of being small, vulnerable  and imperfect. What a group of beautiful women! I recognized the blessing of being in community with such love.

I’ve also been reading through Galatians. The “feminine” qualities of love and grace and patience are my personal struggle. All that hit me really hard in this morning because Paul is explicitly clear and repetitive in writing to the Galatians.

“Therefore, the Law has become our tutor to lead us to Christ, so that we may be justified by faith.” (3:24)

“Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.” (5:24-25)

“If anyone is caught in any tresspass, you who are spiritual, restore such a one in a spirit of gentleness.” (6:1)

“Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. So then, while we have the opportunity, let us do good to all people and especially to those who are of the household of the faith.” (6:9-10)

Do these hit you in the gut the same way they strike me?

One thought on “Grace over Questions

  1. Your thoughts are very normal. Trust the Lord which is hard because we want to do it ourselves and he will show you the way. He will lead you to
    Christian friends.
    I have been thinking about you and will continue to pray that God will lead.
    Love you very much Nana

Leave a Reply

