Sunday Sermon

This morning, after settling in at Fosters with a cup of coffee and the intention of catching up on my weekly Bible reading, I had to give up. Mom and I have just started reading the book of Matthew — which is not quite as exciting as the Pauline epistles (my favorites). But once I got to chapter 5, I felt like a deer faced with oncoming traffic. I stopped in awe.

Matthew 5 and 6 are both so blatantly convicting and relayed in such truth: I’m determined to continually read this passage to remind myself to be humbled, loving, forgiving and unworried. Oh, how I do not do these things!

“For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even tax collectors do the same? If you greet only your brothers, what more are you doing than others?”

“Beware of practicing your righteousness before men to be noticed by them; otherwise you have no reward with your Father who is in heaven.”

“If you forgive others for their transgressions, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.”

“You are the light of the world. A city in a hill cannot be hidden.”

“Not the smallest letter or stroke shall pass from the Law until all is accomplished.”

“Do not be worried about your life…is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?”

Matthew 5-6 (selected verses)

Leave a Reply

