The Best Is Yet to Be

This poem:

Then, welcome each rebuff
That turns earth’s smoothness rough,
Each sting that bids nor sit nor stand but go!
Be our joys three-parts pain!
Strive, and hold cheap the strain;
Learn, nor account the pang; dare, never grudge the throe!
For thence,—a paradox
Which comforts while it mocks,—
Shall life succeed in that it seems to fail:
What I aspired to be,
And was not, comforts me:
A brute I might have been, but would not sink i’ the scale.
-Robert Browning 
I took a few read-throughs for me to fully grasp the meaning here, but I could not agree more. In sum, it says above that we should rejoice in our mistakes and in God’s commands because where we fail, then we succeed later on as we learn to do what is right. Where we fail in our aspirations, we learn to be something better. The entire poem is about how growing old is the best part of life, the stage in life where God perfects the silly choices of our youth.I think it’s appropriate now as I’m growing up and making these new life decisions. I just filed an apartment application to live with two friends next year in Chapel Hill. I’m applying for scholarships, figuring out budgeting information, starting two part-time jobs this summer. It can be overwhelming. I’m watching so many dear friends become engaged and married (to me that is the true signal of the “grown-up life.” Finally and completely financially independent!). AMENDMENT: the irony of this whole post is that dear Emily Cochran got engaged today at Pilot Mountain! Could not be happier for her!

I take comfort in knowing that I cannot go wrong.

I will just be myself, be who I am. The mistakes I make will only make me wiser. (I realize this probably sounds stupidly obvious to most people, but I am a constant planner, so I need to remind myself of these things, or else I will go crazy making pro/con lists and talking through all possibilities before I make a decision. Ask Bryan. He does the same. Clearly, we need to work on this…).

Well, I start training at Foster’s Market today. I’ll keep you posted on how that goes.

I wanted to put a deposit for an apartment down today, but I hit a little road bump in filling out information on the application, so we’ll have to see what’s to come of that.

Love (and summer goals next time!),
Shannon
Leave a Reply

