Summertime Reading

I have a list. Of books. To read. But limited time in which to read them (with Babysitting + Working).

Nevertheless, it is a List

& Pilgrim’s Progress by Paul Bunyon (working my way through this with Bryan. Classic.)
& The Shallows by Nicholas Carr (UNC’s 2012 summer reading book. It asks, ‘what is the internet is doing to our brains?’ I’m both scared and fascinated.)
& Every Man Dies Alone by Hans Fallada (Started this last semester. Halfway through. Great, but depressing.)
& Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Laugh. I’m laughing. I don’t even want to read this. But, must finish because a friend dared me.)
& The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot (This, along with Tess of the d’Ubervilles has been on my shelf for ever. Life fail. I want to finish it this summer).
& The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer (Sitting on my shelf. Like last summer because I’m a procrastinator. But I want to be more intentional about reading things that fortify and build up, rather than things that taste like cotton candy.)
& Something by Donald Miller (Still haven’t read anything by him. Does this make me a bad Christian?)

That’s what’s on my nightside for now. Any other suggestions are welcomed!

Other goals for the summer? Still to come. But really.
Tentatively…

1. RUN (goal: getting back up to 10 miles by July).

2. PRAYER (starting up the prayer journal again — send along anything that needs praying over, I’m certain I’ll need the encouragement and the accountability as much as you’ll need the intercession).

3. BIBLE (keeping up in making my way through the NT).

4. EAT (make & experiment with new recipes when possible).

Love and karis,
Shannon

One thought on “Summertime Reading

Leave a Reply

