A Number of Anecdotes

1. Aging. First, happy birthday to my Nana Spain! I believe she is 85 today — but I’m estimating based on my agenda last year reading “Happy 84th, Nana!” I don’t know for certain. If I judged based on appearances, I’d say 60 or so. But that would mean she was 10 when she had my dad. So… that’s not realistic. But I’d love to look and be like her when I get older. Her faith is unshakeable. I want that.

And, a slightly early happy 21st birthday to the sweetest middle sister I know: Steph!

2. Short Story. I thought of a funny anecdote last night that I failed to mention in my post about the mountains.

The gist of the story is this:

Michelle had to pee. I stopped our car at a nearby Hardees. Michelle and Cierra and I got out. I didn’t have to pee. They went inside. I locked the car and started talking to Bryan in the parking lot.

I look around.

I realize my keys are still in the car.

Along with Paganini (Cierra’s puppy).

Oops.

Bryan looks at me, frowns, picks up his cell phone, dials AAA.

AAA comes during the next 20 minutes. It takes me about that long to understand how I could have been so stupid.

Thankfully, Michelle and Cierra (and Paganini) don’t treat me like a complete idiot for leaving my keys in the car when I didn’t even need to lock the doors and we finally get back on the road to the mountains.

Ultimate Moral of the Story: Bryan saved the day.

Don’t you love it?
Often the theme of my life.

Anyway, hope that brought a smile to your face. If not, step outside: the weather is absolutely amazing today — hovering around 80 degrees without clouds. Fall is bipolar in North Carolina.

3. This Weekend. This weekend I’m balancing an “important” (cough, Bryan) football game against NC State, a wedding (for dear Melissa!) and 3 of my big upcoming projects. They don’t seem to space them out quite like they did in undergrad.

4. Early Intervention. Mom, since you’re now teaching Kindergarten, I know you’ll enjoy this:  the Carolina Abecedarian Project (a study that is looking at children from a variety of ages and socioeconomic backgrounds over time) found that:

“providing early intellectual stimulation would enhance cognitive development, thereby allowing children to enter school better prepared to learn … should in turn increase the probability of early school success, lead to later scholastic success, and eventually, result in vocational achievement and successful social adaptation in adulthood.”

Thus, early intervention and education is CRUCIAL to children’s later development on through adulthood.

Keep on plugging, Mom! : )

Leave a Reply

