What is Your Religion?

“You say, ‘I’m not “religious.”‘
…but everybody’s religious.

What is your religion?

Well, your religion is what you rely upon…
Your religion is what you live for,
is what you hope for;

Your god is that to which
you give yourself,
you give your time, attention, your greatest thought, your money
— you live for it.

It is the thing that keeps you going;
It is what you turn to when life gets so hard.

Everybody has a religion.

But the question is – what is your religion?”

– D.M. Lloyd-Jones

Religion, according to Merriam-Webster is “a cause, principle, or system of beliefs held to with ardor and faith.” I’m pretty sure we can all agree with this fact that everyone has a principle by which they live (ever heard of ‘carpe diem,’ ‘hakuna matata,’ you know. Everyone’s got one.). If you don’t know what yours is, it’s definitely worth doing a bit of reflecting to figure it out.

In a passing glance, my religion is the Gospel of Christianity.

Upon deeper reflection, my ‘religion’ is the Gospel of Shannon; The tenants of which run the gamut from: How can I advance my interests — as a student, as an SLP, as a friend? to How can I look good to others? to What makes me happy?

There’s no redemptive value in that religion.

Anyway, I came across this quote while reading Tim Keller’s study on the book of Romans (which is such a good study, you guys.) and it made me think. Hope it gives you all something worth re-evaluating in your life.

What a gorgeous fall day today!
xo,

Shannon

PS: Special encouragement for all my friends (Emily, Alli, Laura) who are first-year teachers. I just recently caught up with Alli and Emily and heard how hard the first year can be. I cannot begin to tell you how much respect I have for you all. I know it’s tiring, but you are FACILITATING LEARNING. And the more I read, the more I realize that learning is a miracle.

Your brain just ‘clicks.’ Who knows exactly how we are able to retain any information at all. Neurons, brain, mind, thinking, processing, reasoning?: MAGICAL. 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What is Your Religion?

  1. Great post, Shannon! I was wondering where you found Tim Keller’s study…I am currently reading through Romans, and I bet it would be super helpful!

Leave a Reply

