Peppermint Mornings

There’s the first cup of coffee (it’s always first) and then there’s the adjustment of clarity as I put in my contacts (it’s always second) – and then there’s that uninterrupted stillness of sleeping people.

I call myself a “morning person,” but it often annoys me that I can’t pinpoint exactly why I think the clearest and feel the most at peace then. I look forward to that time: before I turn out my light and wrap up in my comforter, my last thought is usually an expectant one for warm morning coffee and sunshine.

Part of it may be my introverted nature; part of it may be my INTJ personality – I feel consequences – I foresee that waking up means coffee, reading, quiet, thinking, NO PEOPLE. And my brain goes “Ahhhhh, YES!”

But, seriously.

This is me in the mornings:

-body: snuggly in bed
-brain: wide awake.

I’m definitely not the type that jumps from the bed to go out on a run. I know it’s mostly a mental thing – but what I crave is quiet rest; waking up to run must be something extroverts invented. Or otherwise REALLY athletic introverts.

And so I ponder such things as I sit here with peppermint coffee (so delicious), and blinds open to the half-inch of white frost outside (brrrrr!). I wrote this from Microsoft Word yesterday as our internet was apparently cut off by the winter flurry on Friday. I’m still bummed even today thinking about how I am supposed to be in DC right now with Bryan, visiting Kelsey, Jon and Bryan’s friends. But alas, the ice came and so Bryan and I decided to stay in Chapel Hill.

As I am currently with my quiet, lovely morning all to myself, I can’t really complain; I adore this time.

I will note this weekend has been productive:

& – I compiled Save the Dates for the wedding, ordered stamps, sorted out our guest list.

& – I made Smitten Kitchen’s Potato Soup (I very highly recommend – healthier than your average potato soup) – if only I had an immersion blender in my possession…

& – I made this decadent chocolate cake.

& – We saw Larry Fedora at Tobacco Road Sports Bar – while agonizing over the NC State v UNC game last night (AHHH!).

This is my life, people.

And, finally, I’ve especially enjoyed reading through the second chapter of Colossians:

“If with Christ you died to the elemental spirits of the world, why, as if you were still alive in the world, do you submit to its regulations:

“Do not handle! Do not taste! Do not touch!”?

(referring to things that all perish as they are used).

These have indeed an appearance of wisdom in promoting self-made religion and asceticism and severity to the body, but they are of no value in stopping the indulgence of the flesh.”

– Colossians 2:20-23

2 thoughts on “Peppermint Mornings

  1. Ahhh! A gal after my own heart…except mine is either Hazelnut, French Vanilla, Creme Brule (sp?) Butternut rum, etc. I love practically all flavors, BUT they must be C.F. I’m sure that’s where part ways. :) I know you remem-
    ber L.’s surgery is @ 7:00 am so we must be there @ 5:30!. No worry. I’ll start the pot about 4:30. Think I’ll get to bed by ten at least tonight. I’ll limit my peppermint to Brachs. Love You

Leave a Reply

