Life Currently (3.25.13)

I can almost hear Nana emailing me to say she was hoping that I’d post some news about my daily life. She was  wonderful in that way: rejoicing in the mundane details of all her grandchildren. She made me feel appreciated.

And so, if you want to know what recent life has been like, here’s a short summary:

Watching. March Madness. Carolina just lost. I’m currently watching Duke v. Creighton and strongly disliking both teams. What a crazy tournament this year.

Stressing. Over school projects – somewhat silly. Stressing over wedding budget things – not silly but still nerve-wracking – I really do have to keep reminding myself to find joy in all these (what seem like inconsequential) decisions. I’m anticipating the day and the party, but I’ve never been a detail-person. Girls who are, please send me encouragement and suggestions!

Enjoying. This weekend. I spent Saturday morning with dear SLP friends chatting about lives, salaries, and pets. Saturday afternoon I saw Steph’s softball team WIN and got dinner with Mom & Dad. Sunday, we experienced Alivia’s and Duke Memorial United Methodist Church in Durham.

Anticipating.This summer (still haven’t heard about my internship). Anticipating. This fall (I was elected President of our graduate student organization! I’m excited to invest in and build on what I’ve loved about my program so far).

Planning. The future with Bryan – deciding on things like ‘who will pay the bills,’ and ‘who will cook the food’ – I’m looking forward to sharing a home and a purpose and a life. We’re also loving our marriage counseling mentors. We meet again in a few weeks.

Desiring. Easter Sunday – rest and refocusing. It’ll be our first Easter without Nana; It’ll be different, but how ready I am to get to spend time with family. There is no place like home. There is no time like Easter.

Running. Sporadically. 3-4 miles. Not near close to 10! I’m getting nervous.

Reading. Gone Girl for my book club. I’m only 4 chapters in, but the book is intriguing. I just need to find a chunk of time to get through it.

Pondering. This beautiful sermon by Paul:

“’The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by human hands.

And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything.

Rather, he himself gives everyone life and breath and everything else. From one man he made all the nations, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands.

God did this so that they would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from any one of us.'” [Acts 17:24-27]

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Life Currently (3.25.13)

  1. Frances Lewis

    Shannon, How sweet. Yes your Nana would have been thrilled to hear of all your activities. I have to say I got a little teary when I read it. I miss my phone calls with her. One day we will see her again.
    Have a Happy Easter with your family. Tell them all hello for me

Leave a Reply

