Only One Who Brings Me Peace.

“Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming. Instead … we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head.”
[Ephesians 4:14-15]

Our world is too afraid of vulnerability and humility. I’m guilty of that fear, too. Listening to this song reminds me how little we hear raw, simple, quiet truth in songs. It’s not catchy – but it’s a striking reflection of my inner dialogue with God, and I’m thankful for it.

It does seem like all my prayers begin with something along these lyrics – just as Ephesians describes, I’m a forgetful, silly, gullible, easily distracted baby. I’m still learning that my father knows the truth, has my best interests at heart, and allows me to rest in his arms, in his house, without worries. And so, in the midst of exams, spending money on a wedding and coordinating summer plans, I’m sorry for running in circles…

I’m so forgetful. But you always remind me.
You’re the only one who brings me peace.
You’re the only one who brings me peace.

So I come. Lord, I come.
I come. Lord, I come,

To tell you, I love you.
To tell you, I need you.
To tell you there’s no better place for me than in your arms.

To tell you, I’m sorry.
For running in circles.
For placing my focus on the waves, not on your face.

– Will Reagan and the United Pursuit Band. 

2 thoughts on “Only One Who Brings Me Peace.

Leave a Reply

