Updates (4.30.13)

Whenever I think of Nana, I also remember what few updates I’ve put on here recently. She’s always been my most eager reader. I love that she found joy in the mundane. Probably because she prayed for the day-to-day of my life. And I’m thankful for that.

And so, in honor of Nana, I actually do have quite a few new updates:

1. I finished my Tar Heel 10-Miler goal.  Last Saturday such a lovely day for it – no rain but not too much sun and I got to run it with Alli and Emily. Then, Bryan found me at mile 9 to truck up the big (~1 mile) hill! Steep incline, let me tell you. The moment I saw him I was ready to stop. I even told him that, but Bryan was my encourager and pushed me to finish the whole race without stopping.

IMG_1478

IMG_1476

2. My childhood friend, Emily, got married the same day as the 10-Miler. It’s crazy, but the 3 of us – Emily, Emily, and I (Yes, I know a LOT of Emilys) – who used to do Bible Study together (below) are all getting married this year! Who would have ever thought?

IMG_1504

3. Bryan and I signed a lease for an apartment next year. I am head over heels for it. It’s close to campus, with gorgeous beautiful windows, hardwood floors, a cozy kitchen and (although inoperable) a fireplace! Oh, and a gorgeous study room. How did we find it? Impulse – or the guidance of God. I’d gone for runs past this place all summer last year and remembered that it was for rent last year. I took Bryan by it – just to see – and the perfect apartment was available. Here’s some photos from the current tenant’s decorations.

IMG_1527

IMG_1519

Can’t wait to have you all over for dinner next year. : )

4. I’m starting to stress less about wedding planning. Just going to plan the big things and let the details fall where they may. I don’t like details. There’s all this pressure for “personalization,” but I don’t even like trinkets and decorations. They are stressful. And since I don’t like those things, I won’t want them at my wedding, right? Right. Cool.

That’s all for now – we are immersed in exam season right now. Bryan is rocking them. He has only one left. I have 3! One tomorrow and 2 take-homes. Updates again soon, I promise.

4 thoughts on “Updates (4.30.13)

  1. Thanks for the update. Keep them coming. Also praying for you and Bryan as you finish up your exams/papers! Best Wishes! Love you, Dad.

  2. Wow! Thanks for the pics…AND…SMILES.. That tells us all that stress is NOT 24/7. :) Praying for you both!,,,and I think the apt. is super-cool. Love you’ll much. Ms P

  3. Dear Shannon,
    I’m not sure if you know this, but I avidly follow this blog of yours! This is how I stay connected to you, my friend. Since I am terrible at follow-up, I use these updates, these posts that you put up as a way for me to picture your life while you are yonder. I wish I could tell you how much I miss you-I hate that we aren’t closer in proximity. I would love to help you tackle those menacing ( and oftentimes meaningless-you’re better off without them ;)) details of the wedding and putting together boxes for your super cute new place. *Sigh* Maybe one day, dear, we will be reunited for a good LONG time of catching up and spilling of life’s little twists and turns. Love you with all my heart, sweet friend!

    1. Whenever you write, I always know you mean what you say with all your heart. I DO want a good catch-up. We aren’t too far away but this time of life seems to be full of twists and turns and corners and surprises – in good ways! But makes it difficult to schedule catching-up for sure. I’m so glad you read it to keep abreast of my life! I try to use it for that!!

Leave a Reply

