Miserable Weather.

I’m sitting on a front porch in downtown Charleston. I’ve been doing a lot of reading. This weekend, I spied a copy of CS Lewis’ Four Loves from a shelf among the many at the rental house. We are down here for my friend Emily’s bachelorette party. I’ll be honest; the weather has been stormy, windy, rainy. Mostly miserable – and most definitely not what I’d craft for Emily’s bachelorette getaway. But just this morning I realized my heart was a little wrong. I was thinking aloud to God; I said something along the lines of “even in the midst of this miserable weather, I’ve so enjoyed my weekend.”

And then I realized how ungrateful and spoiled I sounded.

Erg, give me sun, God! Now!

I also realized how this “miserable weather” weekend has given us so much fun indoors. A lot of unhurried times together – lots of talking (when I’m usually the one rushing to fulfill the day’s itinerary of going, going, going). And I’ve felt rested drinking coffee, wine, cooking reading. Four Loves  reminded me friendship is God-given. And friendship teaches us about others’ beauty. It’s not for our own enjoyment. Between Christians, friendship is for learning and loving on each other.

This is what the weekend has taught me.

God gave us gently gray, beautifully wet weather. He’s blessed dear Emily in so many ways – and he’s blessed me to know her and to be able to take part in her joy – because she is always joyful –  in discovering, in shopping (my least favorite), in exploring and in just celebrating a FRIENDSHIP he’s ordained.

“In friendship we think we have chosen our peers…

But, for a Christian, there are, strictly speaking no chances…

The friendship is not a reward for our discriminating and good taste in finding one another out. It is the instrument by which God reveals to each of us the beauties of others.”

– Four Loves by CS Lewis

One thought on “Miserable Weather.

  1. What a beautiful part of your weekend to share the portion of “Four Loves”. My schedule has been SO full and yet, friends have played a great part of my being able to “let down” and catch my breath. I too see these friendships as God given, and that includes my friendship with you, Dear One! Don’t let these next 3 months get you too frazzled. Continue to take time for our Greatest Friend and the Peace His Presence brings.
    Love you much…Mrs. P

Leave a Reply

