Christmas Reading

You’ll notice below that Megan (the beauty in the black flapper gown) had a lovely 30th celebration at the Carolina Inn last night. Many thanks to dear Katie for letting me borrow her sparkling 1920s gown! More photos on Flickr.
Megans30-3 Megans30

More photos here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/shanweynand/sets/72157638485122116/

In Chapel Hill, Bryan and I have attended a membership meeting to officially join the Summit Church! I feel a mix of relief, excitement, and burden. Burden because committing to support, pray for, and love a church is a large responsibility. And one I take seriously. As many things I take seriously, it probably took us too long to “finally become members” of the Summit. I think it is officially official in January, but today I am overjoyed. And would love to talk to you about why I love this church.

Exams are nearing the end (Bryan’s last is tomorrow! after which he has a Christmas Grinch-rebuttal post he would like to share here). I have a take home I need to finish. So. I figure now is as good a time as any to make my Christmas reading list:

  • A Praying Life by Paul Miller (My biggest New Year’s Resolution is for regular morning prayer. Please join me to keep me accountable.)
  • Abba’s Child by Brennan Manning (At least 3 people have recommended this book to me in the last month.)
  • 1984 by George Orwell (Been working on this for an embarrassingly long time. I love it so far. Just being a procrastinator.)
  • A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan (“there was a bookish young woman whose passion for learning, natural history, and, yes, dragons defied the stifling conventions of her day…,” I know. Right?).

Looking forward to your suggestions. What are you all planning to read over Christmas break?

One thought on “Christmas Reading

  1. No time to talk right now other than to say…you’ll are cute as pie and your
    1st Christmas as H and W will be SO DEAR so go slow and remember it all.
    I covet your prayers for my wrists and right hand. More later. Love both of
    you so much. Ms. P

Leave a Reply

