One Consuming Thought.

Oh, you thought I’d run away without internet access again?

Kidding. 

How are you, friends?

photo
Last week’s campus run with inspiring people (Alli – middle, and Emily – right).

After taking in the sermon this morning, and setting aside prejudices to read JD Greear’s Gospel book this afternoon, and hearing this song (www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ebxZwkkrmk) on my drive this evening, I’m struck by how far my heart wanders weekly (yes, as in, every week – every day – !) from what I profess to believe and live my life for; I wander, directionless, purposeless, from what should be an earth-shattering, striking Truth:

.

.

Grace, Mercy, Forgiveness, Love Unconditional

for ME,

a WRETCHED, THOUGHTLESS, DIRTY, STUBBORN, PRIDEFUL

stray.

.

.

The very moment I’ve forgotten how FOOLISH it is for God to JUSTIFY me (whose self-righteousness knows no bounds, whose words are crafted to pierce my husband like the sharpest sword, whose thoughts for others’ salvation are effectively nonexistent, whose belief in her own ability to achieve happiness is ultimate) because of BRIEF – so brief – MOMENTS of DIVINELY-INSPIRED FAITH – that very moment I forget that – I revert back to THOUGHTLESS, STUBBORN, PRIDEFUL me.

.

.

As I’ve heard it said, The Gospel is continually coming back to the ABSURDITY of your own SALVATION.

.

.

It’s a continual process of beginning again.

.

.

PS: This song just so good

“Make empty
So I can be filled
‘Cause I’m still holding
Onto my will
And I’m completed
When you are with me
Make me empty

‘Til You are my one desire
    Til You are my one true love…

‘Til You are my breath, my everything
     Lord, please keep making me

“Make me lonely…”

– Sidewalk Prophets
www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ebxZwkkrmk

Leave a Reply

