Hello, It’s Mr. Nasty.

Joe Fox: [writing to “Shopgirl”] Do you ever feel you’ve become the worst version of yourself? That a Pandora’s box of all the secret, hateful parts – your arrogance, your spite, your condescension – has sprung open? Someone upsets you and instead of smiling and moving on, you zing them. “Hello, it’s Mr Nasty.”

 

I’m sure you have no idea what I’m talking about.

 

Kathleen Kelly: [writing to “NY152”] No, I know what you mean, and I’m completely jealous! What happens to me when I’m provoked is that I get tongue-tied and my mind goes blank. Then I spend all night tossing and turning trying to figure out what I should have said.

 

You’ve Got Mail.

 

I just adore this movie. Sometimes I’m convinced I possess Joe Fox’s brutal honesty to a tee … other days, Kathleen Kelly’s kindness is my spirit animal. Kathleen Kelly is certainly who I hope I am but candor is most often the victor. 

This movie is like a comforting tea amidst the once-again Bryan-less apartment.

3 thoughts on “Hello, It’s Mr. Nasty.

Leave a Reply

