He is Never Impressed by Earnestness.

My morning devotion has been set to the tune of My Utmost for His Highest over these past two months. Bryan gave me this copy with the sweetest note on the cover when I was still in high school and I’ve been reading it off and on since. I finally looked up some history on Oswald Chambers (the author) and this book. I was surprised to find that Chambers did not actually “write” the book – his wife used her shorthand notes from his sermons to compile 365 days of devotionals (1 for each of his sermons) after his death. I’m sure she added some of her own thoughts in there, too. So I like that – that in the early twentieth century, a Southern Baptist woman got this little book published. I also love the fact that almost every page in this small devotional (and it is small) has underlines from me (new or old).

The writing is simple and straightforward, but the words are often left echoing in my mind throughout the day. This book moves past pretense to guiding your real, and rich, personal relationship with God. It is amazing that what was true in the 1910’s continues to ring faithfully true today.

A few of my favorite highlights:

– I can be so rich in poverty, so rich in the consciousness that I am nobody, that I shall never be a disciple of Jesus; and I can be so rich in the consciousness that I am somebody that I shall never be a disciple … Discouragement is disenchanted self-love and self-love may be love of my (own) devotion to Jesus (Aug 18).

– Continually restate to yourself what the purpose of your life is; the destined end of man is not happiness, nor health, but holiness (Sept 1).

– Watch the kind of people God brings around you and you will be humiliated to find that this is His way of revealing to you the kind of person you have been to Him (Sept 11).

– When we try to be wise we see nothing (Sept 14)

– God is never impressed by our earnestness (Sept 16)

No enthusiasm will ever stand the strain that Christ puts on his worker (Sept 25)

I’m constantly reminded to be His quietly, humbly, steadfastly.

Love,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

