The Same.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”
    – Hebrews 13:8

“You, Lord, laid the foundation of the earth in the beginning,
    and the heavens are the work of your hands;
they will perish, but you remain;
they will all wear out like a garment,
like a robe you will roll them up,
    like a garment they will be changed.
But you are the same,
    and your years will have no end.”
    – Hebrews 1:12

“Jesus said to them, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you: before Abraham was, I am.’”
    – John 8:58

In the many ways I’ve changed since high school and college and graduate school, it is the most refreshing thing to come back to someone whose goodness has been unaltered and unexaggerated by time or hyperbole. Consistency is beautiful and reassuring and I always need the reminder that Jesus Christ is THE SAME as he’s always been.

This week has been one of joy and fellowship with friends from afar. I have adored getting to spend time with Claire and Cristina and Bryan. However, this has also been a week full of busyness and anticipation of the upcoming changes. Less than a month lies between Bryan’s graduation and bringing home sweet Franklin. I need to know how constant the Lord is. I crave honesty in my relationships. Underlying honesty is my desire for consistency – staying true to a spoken word – and speaking your mind.  My Lord is the same person whom my grandmother loved dearly and who looked upon my great-great-great-great grandparents with eager forgiveness. He extends his grace to me on days of my wildly inconsistent mood and opinions. I love him. And I need his fidelity. I need to know that his will is always rooting for me, always there providing grace and fortitude.

And, finally, Franklin will remind you that although Jesus is constant we must also look upon the world with constantly new, unjaded eyes:

DSC_1386

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

