Small Joys 7.29.16.

Hello friend. It is Friday. Your work week is over. I hope you have something to look forward to this weekend! Me? I’m looking forward to resting. Here are small joys I’ve been treasuring during this week of rest after much traveling:

  1. This song by Kaleo (“All the Pretty Girls”). It’s addictive; I listen on repeat. I recommend listening while you keep reading here.

2. Rock Creek Park (ie, hiking that is 20 minutes from our apartment). Now that the weather is finally below 95 degrees, Franklin and I took a day trip for a hike here today and it was wonderous. We took our time, I let him off leash (don’t tell the park ranger peeps – I quickly leashed him around others!). If it was about 10 degrees cooler, I would’ve been content to settle there with my book for the rest of the day. As it was, we were in need of some good ole A/C.

3. A freshly groomed pup. Franklin smells like a dream and I cannot get enough of it. I took him to the groomers for the first time in (possibly) 6 months. I want to snuggle with him all the time.

4. IKEA’s Ribba photo frames. Bryan and I are now the proud owners of 13 of these. They’re not bad on the pocketbook or the eye. I may have made two trips this week just to get enough of them … Related: I have too much time on my hands.

5. This gallery of Calvin & Hobbes cartoons where Trump is portrayed saying ridiculous things (which are pretty darn accurate to his personality).

6. This passage from Ecclesiastes 5 that is good for the do-gooders soul (*ahem* me *ahem*):

“This is what I have observed to be good: that it is appropriate for a person to eat, to drink and to find satisfaction in their toilsome labor under the sun during the few days of life God has given them—for this is their lot. 19 Moreover, when God gives someone wealth and possessions, and the ability to enjoy them, to accept their lot and be happy in their toil—this is a gift of God.”

7. A restful weekend of no plans. Seriously, though. Bryan and I have no plans for the second weekend in a row, and I could not be more thrilled. Last weekend’s lack of plans became full of chores and cleaning after our trips. But this weekend may finally be the weekend of farmers market shopping, and hiking, and reading, and that sounds like a lovely thing as our routine recently has involved a trip to NC every few weeks …

8. The upcoming release of Present over Perfect. I admit to high expectations for this book; it is written by Shauna Niequist, the same author of Bread & Wine (one of my all-time favorites). Check it out and decide yourself.

franklingram

Franklin and me after our 2-hour hike in Rock Creek. He’s such a happy guy here – and then proceeded to sleep for the rest of the day.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Small Joys 7.29.16.

  1. I love these– they make me feel connected to your life even from so far away! Love you friend.

Leave a Reply

