Links & Snapshots. 8.18.16.

I loved having my Mom and both my sisters up for a semi-girls weekend – “semi” because Bryan was included for his tour guide expertise and general ability to put up with my grumpiness after too many social activities. Below are a few photos from their fun time up here:

FullSizeRenderIMG_9191IMG_9205

We’re still cooling down from the weekend, during which temps reached 115 degrees and broke a record in DC! Yikes. So while we convince Franklin that chilling inside is the best decision for his health (no, really, buds!), I’ve compiled a few links that I’ve been enjoying reading around the web. I hope they help in your general efforts to stay cool:

EARS in India 2016. A documentary video about our time in India and the organization that sponsored it. It was so good to see all those joyous kind faces of the children again! A clarification about what I said: the children we saw often were significantly delayed in understanding and using spoken language – much the same as a one or two year old needs much help for understanding. 

This on How Small Talk Can Form Lasting Relationships. I need this reminder every day. Small talk makes me nervous … but mainly because I think  it is pointless. Apparently not!

But yet, I’m in agreement with this article: Why It Is So Hard for Adults to Make Friends. It does indeed seem we have actually graduated from a time of open companionship to this difficulty. Is it social media, or is it something else? Happy to have this genuine read / confession. In good news, sisters are always your sisters and friends.

The Power of Altruism. David Brooks offers some food for thought, which is basically this: “To be a good citizen, to be a good worker, you often have to make an altruistic commitment to some group or ideal, which will see you through those times when your job of citizenship is hard and frustrating…”

Currently Reading:

“I believe that there is one story in the world, and only one. . . . Humans are caught—in their lives, in their thoughts, in their hungers and ambitions, in their avarice and cruelty, and in their kindness and generosity too—in a net of good and evil. . . .

“There is no other story. A man, after he has brushed off the dust and chips of his life, will have left only the hard, clean questions: Was it good or was it evil? Have I done well—or ill?”

East of Eden by John Steinbeck

and

“I remembered Ephesians 6:12 and it seemed to fit: ‘For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.'”

“Rejection isn’t just an emotional feeling, it’s a message that alters what you believe about yourself.”

Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst

 

 

 

One thought on “Links & Snapshots. 8.18.16.

  1. Okay I NEEDED that article on making friends as an adult…Like, everything in there resonated with me…from getting stuck in the acquaintance phase to knowing so many details from social media it feels awkward to transition to real life. Such a sigh of relief that I’m not the only person in my mid-twenties who fees that way.

Leave a Reply

