Forgiveness, depth of 

I stumbled across this line in my audiobook and I can’t stop thinking about it; There is something about listening to these words in audio that makes them more haunting – like someone whispered them to me yet my ears can’t stop ringing thinking of it:

“Forgive me not according to my unworthiness, but according to Thy loving kindness.”

Anna Karenina

Come to find, it is a paraphrase of Psalm 51 (“the Bathsheba psalm”):

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your steadfast love; 

according to your abundant mercy blot out my transgressions. 

Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin! 

For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me. 

Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you may be justified in your words and blameless in your judgment.”‭‭

– Psalms‬ ‭51:1-4‬ ‭ESV‬

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

